I have finally figured out the best time for me to write a meaningful and thought provoking post. It’s right after I have woken up or late at night when the house is completely silent.

The key to being able to write nicely is this: Be consistent.

I have been posting an article on either this blog or the other one every day, even if I save it as a draft. But because the flow is not broken, I am continually improving on several aspects of my writing. And improving quite rapidly too. I have reduced rambling and a little focus is coming into my writing. Well, not that focused too.

I started this piece thinking I’ll write about the best time to write and here I am talking about things I have learnt. Anyhow. The point is that one should keep practicing and practicing and practicing. As they say, there’s no substitute for hard work. The good news is that once you get used to working hard, and working consistently, you start enjoying it.

For example, I woke up at 11 am today, had breakfast, answered nature’s call, and thought in my head that I will sit down and write something. But I was feeling very lazy and thought I’ll watch some TV first. Luckily, I remembered the promise I had made to myself a few days back that I will write everyday, even if it is just one stupid line. Even if its without any order, pure chaos or whatever; I will write a little everyday.

So I sat down, opened one of my unfinished drafts and started typing. Now I don’t know if I am making any sense, but I know that I have written this.

And it’s better than not having written anything.

Of course, this applies to pretty much every other skill that you are trying to develop. Practice, practice, and more practice.

