After 3 years of mind numbing math in University, I had almost left my habit of reading voraciously. Thanks to unemployment, I can now read as much as I want. At least till I don’t have a real job.

The Immortals of Meluha Cover
The Immortals of Meluha Cover

Last week, I read “The Immortals of Meluha” by Amish Tripathi. It’s an excellent read which combines elements from Indian mythology, history, science and some good ol’ man-comes-to-faraway-land-becomes-a-hero-and-saves-the-day type of fictional drama.

Amish has done a very good job and frankly, it’s quite hard to believe that this is his debut book.

Synopsis

Basically, the book is about a Tibetan Tribal chief, Shiva, who’s from Mount Kailash up in the Himalayas. He is invited to the prosperous kingdom of Meluha by the king and soon enough, we see that Shiva is none other than the legendary Neelkanth – man with the blue throat. According to a Meluhan legend, he is the famed destroyer of evil and will help the Suryavanshis (descendants of the sun) fight against the Chandravanshis (descendants of the moon).

Critical Analysis

The story

The Immortals of Meluha is a surprisingly tight, and nice developed fiction read. The events and various sub plots in the novel make it even more gripping. Amish has really exercised his imagination here and given us a wonderful book. Not only this, but the story has plenty of twisted to keep you engaged and asking questions.

Characterization

This came as quite a shocker to me because Amish has managed to create superb characters. He has taken the effort to actually develop deep characters – something which a lot of Indian authors don’t do. What disappointed me a little though was the language of some of the characters. He’s shown Shiva speaking in crass, urban language swearing quite often. That seemed a little superfluous. Other than that, I don’t think there’s any other reason for you to not buy The Immortals of Meluha if you’re into suspense novels.

Why You Should Read it

Because its fresh. It’s different. It’s not at all boring. And reading is healthy habit.The best part? It’s been written as part of a trilogy and I can’t wait to read the second part.

Get The Immortals Of Meluha delivered to you. (If you haven’t bought books from Flipkart, start buying, brother. It’ll save you tons of time and money).

[I hope this review of The Immortals of Meluha is not boring. I haven’t written book reviews since I passed out of school. Do let me know if you have any feedback so that I can write better reviews!]

