In Italy, there’s a city called “Slow city” where people are urged to live a slower life. The kind of life people in India’s small towns and villages enjoy. A lot of American doctors, self-help gurus, writers, etc. are advocating a slower lifestyle, less consumerism, more quiet, stronger family ties, organic food, more walking/cycling, less worry, etc. Does it ring a bell? All these things are a part of life in India. But no, we don’t like this, we want that. The grass is green and all that.

We have all studied for exams. I was preparing for one a few months back (or at least that’s what I tell nosy relatives who can’t mind their own business). My goals were to increase the speed of my brain at processing numbers and understand complicated paragraphs in English quickly – that’s what they make you study when you want to crack GMAT or CAT and learn about business.

But I kept questioning whether this speed was good? Whether we humans were designed for living at high speeds? Or whether a slow pace is what we were suited for? I for one always try to take the slow lane – I make less mistakes, there is less stress, less things to worry about. Less, in my exp, is generally better. More equals clutter. Less equals simplicity. As a result, I have donated the extra clothes from my cupboard, freed up tons of space and done some good karma.

But no. Thanks to the British and the Americans, the whole world is living in consumerism. Consume, consume, consume. That’s what the average Joe does in his/her spare time. Eat food, consume information, peek into what others are doing. Sure, there are some creative nuts here and there who create new things or change things but they are scarce.

 

